Welcome To Salmon Cottage 

 

                   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

AvailabilityTarriffsBook NowMapReviewsContact Us

Reviews

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago for a stay in August 2015 

Salmon Cottage has outstanding facilities, and the owners could not have been more attentive. It was the perfect base for our family while our children spent time with their cousins who live nearby. The rooms were immaculately clean and the kitchen was very well-equipped. The views from the picture windows are stunning and it was a pleasure to watch the children roam around the beach. They even joined in a rock pool hunt organised by the local eco-farm.

It is also a great base for visiting Edinburgh as the train station is so close, but a relief to return to Kinghorn and escape the festival crowds (and prices)

The only problem was with the shower, and this was sorted out within an hour.

We can highly recommend this property.

 

 

We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Salmon Cottage. It's unfortunate but not unusual during the high season when the appliances are at full stretch that some running repairs often have to be carried out. As you are aware we always make this a priority to ensure our guests are never inconvenienced for very long. Thank you for your understanding and cooperation.

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Salmon cottage is 9 feet from the beach bedrooms are downstairs with a spectacular view over the bay from large wrap round windows. I tis furnished and equipped to the highest quality and has good wifi reception. I f you can drag yourself away from the view the cottage has everything to make your stay memorable.I am about to book a further week towards the end of the year. The town of Kinghorn has good take outs and shops and a good chippy.

 

 

Thank you so much for taking the time to participate in trip advisors review system. We hope your experience will help others to discover just what a unique and well run house Salmon Cottage is. It will be our great pleasure to welcome you back again, you were such great guests and a pleasure to assist along the way.

All good things,
George & Mary

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The location of this property was fantastic with superb coastal views. We saw dolphins swimming up the Firth of Forth one morning whilst sitting in the living room. The living area was comfortable and light and kitchen amenities clean and well provided for. Having two bathrooms is great, as is a dedicated parking space right outside. The location was peaceful and quiet but very convenient for exploring Fife and into Edinboro' on the train. Lots to do and see locally - we thought it was an ideal base. We also enjoyed being directly on the coastal footpath.

The owners were pleasant and attentive in all dealings.

 

Response from George & Mary Bain - 29th June 2015

 

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Salmon Cottage and thank you for the feedback which helps us to ensure all our future guests arrive to find everything they'll need to enjoy a comfortable stay at our super beachfront house by the sea

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Could not rate Salmon Cottage highly enough. The whole experience was fantastic. From talking to George when making the booking, to arriving and finding such a brilliant location and property. The attention to detail was amazing, right down to the binoculars to take in the every changing views from the living room. We didn't want to leave. Coming from such a long way away (Australia) we don't know when we will return but we will definitely will! In the meantime we will be recommending to all the delightful Salmon Cottage.

 

 

Many thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts about Salmon Cottage.It was our pleasure to assist you along the way and we sincerely hope you'll return again.

All good things, George & Mary

 

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
 

This cottage's location is ideal - right on the beach. The upside down layout is perfect for admiring the ever changing view across the Forth. The standard of accommodation is really high, as is the attention to detail, everything you need is there, including 2 outside seating areas. The local railway station is just behind the the property up the hill which is great for getting in to Edinburgh via the famous Forth Bridge. A good base for exploring Fife generally or just relaxing by the beach.
A lovely place to stay.

 

 

We're delighted to read your positive comments about your stay at the house and location. Please to hear you made full use of the excellent rail link to Edinburgh. Sincerely hope you'll return again.

Best wishes, Mary & George

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

From booking direct with owners to confirmation and receipt of very clear directions, this wonderful holiday destination is a must visit for anyone seeking rest and relaxation. The sea view is spectacular and the property is actually better than described on the website. The location is a perfect base for exploring surrounding areas. We had an absolutely delightful time and certainly hope to return to picture perfect Salmon Cottage Kinghorn.

 

 

Many thanks for choosing Salmon Cottage and for taking the time to describe your stay there. It was our pleasure communicating with you having you and your close family stay at the house. You'll always be welcome back again.

 best wishes to all

 

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

After a very stressful few months we returned to Salmon Cottage for out third visit and are pleased to say the cottage is still as wonderful as the first time we visited. We were very lucky with the weather and manage to get sunny afternoons on the outside patio where we could relax and look at the stupendous view. The cottage is in an amazing position by the beach looking out to sea with the Isle of Inchkeith in the near distance and Edinburgh in the far distance. The views from the upstairs living area are fantastic and ever changing with the time of day and the weather. We have stayed in many 4 and 5* villas in Europe but this property surpasses them all. As this property is so well equipped we have never had to go out and buy something such as a kitchen utensil or seat pad which we have at others we have stayed in. George and Mary the owners are efficient in all their communications and were so kind and helpful that they let us have the cottage an extra day free of charge when we realised we had to visit family in the area a day previous to our original booking. We had a wonderful time and came back relaxed, refreshed and re-energised. Thank you George and Mary. We hope to be back again later in the year.

 

 

It's always our pleasure to make you welcome at Salmon Cottage and we're very pleased to hear that you're batteries have been recharged. We look forward to seeing you again in the autumn.

 

 

 

Had a lovely stay very chilled and relaxed - the cottage is more like a penthouse it is very smart and well dressed!
We arrived and immediately went upstairs I think all of our jaws dropped - what a view!! The weather was very kind to us so we had lovely sunny views throughout our stay.
The cottage itself is well equip and had everything you needed for your stay. The beach is just a stones throw away and lovely to walk along in the evening.
The bedrooms are on the ground floor due to the amazing views above We slept with our window open whilst listening to the crashing of the waves which were great .
Both owners were very good replied to all emails very easy transaction and very helpful!
All in all we will take home some good memories from here we shall return also when the sun did come out we sat outside and felt we could of been anywhere as it really did feel like you were on your holidays!!
I would highly recommend this little gem .........maybe not might keep it for myself x

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?   Yes.
 
 
We're so pleased you all enjoyed your stay at Salmon Cottage and want to thank you for taking the time to write a little about your experience there.
It was a pleasure dealing with your reservation and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Very best wishes to all,
Mary & George

 

 

 

 

This cottage Is for us the perfect place to stay when in Fife, we cannot praise it highly enough, not only does it have spectacular views from every window, the standard of furnishings is very high and the attention to detail is superb.

 

 
Response from George & Mary Bain - 6th January 2015

We're very pleased you found the time to take part in the trip advisor review system before you departed from Salmon Cottage prior to your long journey back to Australia, thank you both so very much. We look forward to welcoming you back again at Christmas. Wishing you a safe and pleasant onward journey.

All the very best from Mary & George @ Salmon Cottage

 

 

 

Our second visit this year and next year already booked! This is just a lovely property, next to the Firth of Forth, wonderful views and ideally situated for Fife, Edinburgh (road or rail). The cottage is very well equiped, lovely decor throughout, very comfortable seating and beds. Sky TV is a real bonus, as well as DVDs, music, books, always something to look at should the weather not behave.

Communication between the owners is excellent, before, during and afterwards.
Thank you George & Mary, roll on 2015!

 

It's always a pleasure to make you welcome at Salmon Cottage and we look forward to your forthcoming stay. George & Mary

 

 

Beautiful, well equipped holiday home by the sea with splendid views and immediate beach access. Immaculate, modern and with superb views. Attentive yet unobtrusive owners made booking easy and information supplied was detailed and clear.

Grateful thanks for taking the time to review the house and surrounding areas following your stay there. Your comments are important as we 'try to get it right' for all our guests to enjoy this splendid spot on the coast. We look forward to enjoying your company again in the future. Very best wishes, Mary & George

 

 

 

A beautiful,clean and well maintained house virtually on the beach with magnificent views, ideal for watching the sunrise and the moonlight on the sea to give a relaxing holiday. All the facilities included in the house to make one feel at home. Good places to eat out locally but with the views on offer through the upstairs picture windows on an evening it was more pleasurable to us to eat in.

The railway station is only a few minutes walk away but not obtrusive, giving easy access to Edinburgh and other surrounding attractions.

A perfect place for a relaxing holiday and wonderful hosts who ensure they do everything to communicate all relevant information and provide all the the things you could possibly need to enjoy your stay

Sincere thanks for taking the time to review Salmon Cottage. So pleased you made use of the first class transport network to get around the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again to enjoy those views, you'll always be welcome at Salmon Cottage. Best wishes, Mary & George

 
 

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

 

We had a truly great holiday in your amazing house. The weather was just perfect of course, but we both thought we'd enjoy the house even in a blizzard. The ever-changing views were mesmerising and the quiet was refreshing. We loved The Ship and The Auld Hoose and found everything we needed in Kinghorn. Our family visitors were amazed too and our nephew, who lives in Linlithgow, never knew how lovely the beach was and vowed to return. His bairns loved it of course and had great fun on the sand and looking out of the windows of your upside-down house. You really had anticipated your guests' every needs and your attention to detail really made our holiday extra relaxing. We've rented lots of properties over the years, but yours is one of the few which are even better than the photos.

 

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. We sincerely hope that future guests will be as satisfied with the house and surrounding areas as you were. You'll always be welcome at Salmon Cottage. Best wishes, Mary & George

 

 

“Idyllic hideaway”

Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Excellently furnished, comfortable, stunning property in a stunning location with amazing views from the upstairs picture windows and the downstairs bedrooms. Lots of thoughtful inclusions such as bathrobes, toiletries, a wide range of books and DVDs, binoculars and toys/fishing nets/buckets and spades for the beach. A lot of thought has also been given to the outside patio and rear covered, decked garden with comfy chairs and seat pads, gas BBQ, lanterns/candles and flower containers. Great communication from George and Mary the owners throughout from the initial enquiry. Very handy to explore the surrrounding area on foot, by car and train. So much to do for everyone and then a lovely holiday home to return to if you can actually bear to tear yourself away from the house.

 

Response from George & Mary Bain - 22 Apr 2014

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review Salmon Cottage; but more so for your very kind and detailed comments. It's by listening to super guests like you that we endevour to get things right for all our guests to enjoy the house and seafront location. It was a great pleasure to communicate with you from your first enquiry, please visit us again, you'll always be very welcome at Salmon Cottage.

George and Mary Bain

 

 

“A hidden gem”

Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We enjoyed a great week here in early September. Summer crowds all gone leaving a beautifully located easily accessible and well equipped property in which which we were able to relax.

Great views over the Firth of Fourth from the upstairs lounge/diner,with non intrusive activity from planes and cruise liners arriving and departing to and from places afar.

The friendly and very helpful owners provided detailed instructions on everything we needed to know.

Handy for sightseeing in Fife and local station makes railway journey to Edinburgh very easy.

Over 200 golf courses within easy drive from here, including the wonderful St andrews to name but one!

We look forward to a return visit very soon.

 

 

 

“Perfect way to spend a week on the coast in Scotland”

Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We highly recommend Salmon Cottage. It has all of the amenities of the best of hotels but with the privacy and coziness of being at home. Train, butcher, grocery and bakery all within walking distance. Really enjoyed the Fife Coastal Trail. Thank you!! A million dollar view!

 

 

“Unforgettable”

Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Salmon Cottage is the is the kind of cottage you dream of staying at but never quite find. Well we found it !!! the views from the panoramic upstairs windows are enough to make your stay memorable. The sunrises alone are enough to fill your camera and the absolute privacy makes you feel that you own the bay.
The shops in Kinghorn are superb for provisions and the 'Ship' restaurant (an ex pub) serves excellent top end meals ( you really need to book)
but it is really nice to return to the comfort and all round niceness of Salmon Cottage. Give it a try...you won't regret it.

 

Response from George & Mary Bain - 24th Sept 2013

 
We're really pleased to read your comments about the house and surrounding areas and feel sure future guests will be struck by the great images you've posted. We really appreciate your feedback during our email exchanges and we empathise with all your observations. Thanks again for being such great guests and we sincerely hope you'll return again.

Best wishes,
Mary & George

 

 

“Perfect beach house with breathtaking views”

Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I have just spent a week at Salmon Cottage with my mum and my 4 year old twins. The cottage exceeded all my expectations. It is in an absolutely beautiful location with amazing ever changing views. The cottage is decorated to a very high standard which really makes you feel as though you are staying somewhere special. Salmon cottage is close to Kinghorn station, so getting around on public transport couldn't be easier. I would not hesitate to recommend Salmon Cottage to anyone.

 

Response from George & Mary Bain - 15th Sept 2013

Very many thanks for taking the time to post your positive feedback and for being such great guests and we're delighted to hear that you made full use of all the excellent local ammenities. It's been a great pleasure communicating with you and your Mum during the booking process and we sincerely hope you'll return with the twins to enjoy Salmon Cottage again and again.

 

 

“So...nice !”

Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Perfection does not exist but the salmon cottage is not far because it is the ideal place for a great holiday! We went with our two children and we were all able to relax so we part is suitable. The cottage is spacious, bright, ultra well-equipped ... relaxing! We keep an indelible memory and hope to come back next time. George and Mary have a sense of hospitality, they have thought of every detail to everyday comfort with quality in all the equipment and furniture of the villa.
The setting: the sea front and the calm sea we were all rejuvenated.

Thank you to George and Mary to have invented the Salmon Cottage!

 

Response from George & Mary Bain - 6th Sept 2013

 
Dear Pierre and Messa,
We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at Salmon Cottage and thank you for so politely putting up with my attempts to communicate with you in French during the booking process, you really are very kind and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you and the children back again in the future.

Merci et tous meilleurs voeux,
George & Mary

 

 

“Excellent, everything you could want from a holiday let.”

Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Really lovely modern cottage, with everything you would need.
For us the ever changing sea view and activity was engaging. The kids spent hours beachcombing.
The train station which is only a two minute walk away provides easy access to edinburgh, whilst short drives along the fife coastline reveal famous landmarks such as St. Andrews and treasures of fishing villages such as anstruther.
The communication from George and Mary and their attention to detail within the cottage makes them wonderful hosts.
We look forward to returning.

 

 

 

“Perfect”

Reviewed 2 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We loved our time at Salmon Cottage. The location was perfect for us to take day trips around the area either by car or train and also enjoy the beauty of the beachfront cottage. The owners have been so wonderful and we feel we've made new friends. The cottage is decorated to perfection and there is not much you want to change. The views from the windows are perfect and ever changing. We hated to leave when our two weeks was up and return to the USa.
Thanks George and Mary for enabling us a wonderful Scottish experience.

 

Response from George & Mary Bain - 2nd Aug 2013

 
We're so pleased to read your positive review and to learn how much you enjoyed your stay at Salmon Cottage on the Fife coast. It has been an absolute privilege exchanging information with you before and during your stay. You've been the most perfect house guests that any accommodation provider could have wished for and it was a great pleasure to assist you both during your visit to Scotland. Please come back again.

All the very best,
Mary & George

 

 

A relaxing stay in beautiful accommodation

Left on 06/30/2013 for a stay in June 2013

The house is in pristine condition and has everything you could need. The view through the large windows in the lounge is breathtaking! In addition to the home comforts there are some great places to visit within close proximity: Edinburgh, St. Andrews, Aberdour (don't forget to visit the castle) and Loch Lomond, to name a few. The Ship Inn serves great food and is close by, and there is a train station on the Edinburgh line within a few minutes walk. The owners, George and Mary, made us feel so welcome in their communications and offered any help we might need. However, this was not necessary, as everything had been thought about and provided! You will love it.

 

Response from Mr George & Mary Bain - 06/30/2013

Mr George & Mary Bain

Owner

Thank you for taking the time to review Salmon Cottage, it was a great pleasure to communicate with you prior to your arrival and we were happy to make you welcome. We look forward to seeing you again.
Mary & George

Excellent Cottage, location & views. Highly recommended.

Left on 06/29/2013 for a stay in June 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at Salmon Cottage, and this will not be the last time we holiday here! Excellent, second to none the cottage is of the highest standard and cleanliness but at the same time feels extremely welcoming and homely! There is everything you could need, and more. The location and views are breathtaking - panoramic views, it really is picture postcard! Our small son loves every second of staying at his 'beach house'!He has been on the beach every morning before we go out and then again when we return - it's ideal!

Last year we took the train to Edinburgh Zoo, which was great and so much easier than taking the car. Dundee, Perth etc are approximately 1hours drive away. This year we went to Blair Drummond Safari Park. There is so much to see locally too.

The owners George and Mary are so helpful, there are full details in emails following the booking, and supply you with their direct numbers for queries etc. I really appreciate their friendliness and helpfulness.

We will be returning for another holiday!

Response from Mr George & Mary Bain - 06/30/2013

Mr George & Mary Bain

Owner

It was so nice to have you back again and we look forward to welcoming you and young Ben back to his 'beach house' in the not to distant future. Thank you so much for your very kind comments,

Very best wishes,
Mary & George

 

Husbands birthday trip 2013

Left on 06/11/2013 for a stay in June 2013

This house is everything you could want for a get away. We have been to 5 hotels/rental houses in the past three weeks and this by far has been my husband's favorite. The view is breathtaking and the people are welcoming. We love the remoteness and small town feel but the accessibility of this property to other places is easy. The train is a 2 minute walk that will take you to your destination of choice be it Edinburgh or a small town in between. The town of kinghorne has all the staples you would need also within walking. The house is perfectly finished with high end amenities and George and Mary couldn't be more helpful. We will be back as soon as we can. Thank you for all your help George and Mary. This is a birthday my husband won't forget.

Response from Mr George & Mary Bain - 06/11/2013

Mr George & Mary Bain

Owner

We're so very pleased to read your generous remarks about the house and surrounding amenities and just want to return your very kind comments with thanks for being such wonderful guests. It has been a privilege exchanging booking emails etc with you both and it would be a great pleasure to make you welcome again in the future.

Slangevar
George & Mary

 

  • amazing

     
    Left on 06/05/2013 for a stay in May 2013

     

    I have just returned from our second visit to the gorgeous salmon cottage.It is truly a beautiful house with stunning views. All rooms and facilities are of the highest standard and cleanliness. The train station is 5 minutes walk and we travelled all over fife. The costal walk into Kirkcaldy is also lovely. George and Mary can be contacted with any problems and nothing is too much trouble. I would highly recommend his house to anyone and we will definitely return :)

     

    Response from Mr George & Mary Bain - 06/11/2013

    Mr George & Mary Bain

    Owner

    Thank you for your very kind review. We sincerely hope it will help future guests to take advantage of all the convenient amenities that are on hand at Salmon Cottage and we look forward to welcoming you back again for many future visits.
    All the very best,
    George & Mary

  •  
    Paul & Debbie stewart and family
    Dursley

    The Perfect Holiday Home

     
    Left on 05/25/2013 for a stay in April 2013

     

    We have stayed at Salmon Cottage 6 times in the last 5 years.Every year we try and have two holidays in Britain and one abroad but always make sure one of them is at Salmon Cottage.Everything about the cottage is superb. The view is amazing from the large upstairs bay window. In the day the sun sparkles on the sea and at night the lights of Edinburgh flicker across the forth as Inchkeith Island lighthouse flashes across the water.As soon as you walk through the door you feel you're the first person to stay here because of the cleanliness. The decor is excellant and tastefully done with everything you need. Sky TV - Broadband - CD/DVD Player - TV in both bedrooms. The Kitchen is fully loaded with every requirement and the outside patio looks out over the beach.Two minutes up the hill behind the cottage is Kinghorn Railway Station which can take you to Edinburgh across the famous Forth Railway Bridge or the opposite way up to Dundee,Aberdeen and beyond. There is plenty to do and see around the area but I'm sure our daughter Roxy would be just happy to stay at the cottage and play on the beach everyday.My father grew up in this area 80+ years ago and finds it the ideal place to stay so he can revisit all the places of his youth. (North Queensferry & St Davids)Finally I would like to say owners George & Mary always make us feel most welcome and ask to let them know if we need anything else to ensure our stay is most comfortable.In fact now I have written this review it's put me in the mood to go and book up the cottage again...

    More Details ►

     

    Response from Mr George & Mary Bain - 05/29/2013

    Mr George & Mary Bain

    Owner

    Paul, Debbie & Roxy,
    Very many thanks for your generous comments about the house.
    We sincerely hope your review will go some way towards helping future guests to choose Salmon Cottage and to come and experience first hand the unique atmosphere that exists in and around this very special holiday house and location. We now consider all members of the Stewart clan to be honorary guests and we always look forward with fondness to your return to Salmon Cottage.

    Respectfully yours,
    George & Mary
     

  •  
    Norma
    Victoria, BC Canada

    Beautiful Cottage

     
    Left on 03/17/2013 for a stay in February 2013

     

    We loved our stay at the Salmon Cottage in February. We could not have picked something more idylic for 3 of us. The view was fantastic and the location was perfect. We walked the beach (right outside our door) a number of times. We saw gorgeous sunrises and moon rises with a view over to Edinburgh. The location was so very central. We had a car but the proximity to the train station would be very helpful on future trips. Thanks to George and Mary for making our stay so pleasant! 5 stars out of 5! We would definitely return!

     

     

    Response from Mr George & Mary Bain - 03/18/2013

    Mr George & Mary Bain

    Owner

    We want to thank you for taking the time to comment on Salmon Cottage and we look forward to making you all very welcome again in the future.
    We're so please that you experienced the full moon and high tides that make this beach front location so special and it was our pleasure to have you stay. Looking forward to your return,
    George & Mary.

     

  •  
    arem
    inverness-shire

    magical week at salmon cottage

     
    Left on 08/11/2012 for a stay in August 2012

     

    we loved our week at salmon cottage - the house is beautifully decorated, the views stunning - everything a true holiday should be - rest, relaxation, golden beaches, sparkling water - we had so many plans to visit the surrounding area (which is lovely) but ended up staying at the house - the patio and little hideaway are perfect for chilling out, outside and the beach was a few steps away from our front door - everything has been so well thought out, comfy beds and nothing has been forgotton - we would recommend staying at salmon cottage to everyone (except now we've found it...we don't want anyone else to know about this magical place!!)

     

     

    Response from Mr George & Mary Bain - 09/25/2012

    Mr George & Mary Bain

    Owner

    Thank you so very much for taking the time to review Salmon Cottage, we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding areas. It was a great pleasure to assist you and we look forward to seeing you again and again. Best wishes, Mary & George.

  •  
    Linda & Mark
    Stockport

    Breathtakingly beautiful

     
    Left on 06/09/2012 for a stay in May 2012

     

    We had the most magical experience at this wonderful retreat when we spent four nights here last May. The accommodation is absolutely superb, every detail has been thought through and is to the highest standard. The sea views are outstanding. And it is a perfect base for exploring the surrounding areas. We came as a break for me to recoup from a fairly serious illness - the sea air and tranquility were a perfect tonic. However we also took our car and went exploring the surrounding areas, Including St andrews where we got engaged!
     

     

     

    Response from Mr George & Mary Bain - 06/10/2012

    Mr George & Mary Bain

    Owner

    Many thanks Linda & Mark for taking the time to review Salmon Cottage. Your comments are very important to us as it helps to ensure we get things just right for all our guests. We're delighted to hear that you benefited from the sea air environment and hope you'll return again. Please allow us to wish you both all the very best on your engagement - Your not the only ones to find romance in historic St Andrews, you just need to ask William & Kate......

    George & Mary

     

  •  
    angelag1984
     

    A beautiful cottage with amazing views!

     
    Left on 02/25/2012 for a stay in February 2012

     

    I stayed in salmon cottage with my mother, sister and her 18 month old child. Prior to staying there the communication with the owners was excellent. The price of the cottage is very good considering the very high spec finish throughout. It is more like staying in a high class hotel. The cottage looks like it has never been used before. Every room is immaculate. The quality of the equipment within the cottage is excellent. From the kitchen appliances to the towels there has been no compromise made on what has been provided. The view from the cottage is incredible. It was lovely to be able to take my little niece out for walks on the beach. At night you can hear the sounds of the waves which I have only had on trips the the Maldives!
    All the equipment provided for my niece was excellent quality. The cottage made our stay in kinghorn lovely. Thank you very much!

     

     

    Response from Mr George & Mary Bain - 02/29/2012

    Mr George & Mary Bain

    Owner

    We are always happy to learn that our guests were pleased with their stay in our property and its amenities and we want to thank you for your kind and detailed review. Your not the first to comment on the close proximity to the calming shoreline and we trust you will not be the last.
    We hope you'll return again, it was a great pleasure to make you and your family welcome at Salmon Cottage.

    All the very best,
    Mary & George

  •  
    Simone
    Romsey

    Overall standard of Salmon Cottage is excellent!

     
    Left on 02/21/2012 for a stay in August 2011

     

    We were very impressed with Salmon Cottage right from the moment we arrived, as other reviewers have noted, it was as though no one else had just been staying there. It is very tastefully decorated and spick and span in cleanliness. The view from upstairs is just fantastic and we never tired of that; so lovely to be able to watch lovely sunsets etc.. whilst preparing dinner. Verandah downstairs was also a favourite location of our's to sit and chill. Very handy having the train station so close, and also the Fife Coastal path which we made use of. No negative comments to add and we'd just like to say that George & Mary are very welcoming hosts. Thank you so much, we will be back!

     

     

    Response from Mr George & Mary Bain - 02/22/2012

    Mr George & Mary Bain

    Owner

    Very many thanks for your kind and encouraging comments. We are always pleased to learn that our guests have enjoyed their stay at Salmon Cottage and have made full use of the convenient travel links to Edinburgh and St Andrews, as well as the amenities in and around the house. Just let us know if we can do anything to improve your next visit and we'll try our very best to provide it for you and the children.

    Warmest wishes,
    Mary & George

     

  • stay here - you will never regret it**

    Left on 12/16/2011 for a stay in December 2011

    Immaculate property, almost as if you are the first to stay there. The view is magnificent and just as dramatic in the winter (if not more so)! Lovely, comfortable accommodation with every detail catered for. It really is a home from home (and then some) which means that - I suspect - guests treat it with respect, like they would their own home. It was a pleasure staying in this beautiful, whilst convenient part of Fife and we certainly would recommend this to our friends, family and tourists to Scotland.

     

     

    Response from Mr George & Mary Bain - 12/17/2011

    Mr George & Mary Bain

    Owner

    We want to thank you for choosing Salmon Cottage and we're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and for taking the time to honestly review our house by the sea. It was a pleasure to make you feel welcome there.

    Very best wishes,
    George & Mary

  •  
    Shirl
    SCOTLAND

    Amazing place!

    Left on 09/29/2011 for a stay in September 2011

    One of the best holiday homes in Scotland, decorated and equipped to a very high standard. The views from Salmon cottage are breathtaking and hypnotic.
    Fantastic house in a beautiful location.
    Highly reccommend ***

     

     

    Response from Mr George & Mary Bain - 09/29/2011

    Mr George & Mary Bain

    Owner

    Thank you for choosing Salmon Cottage and for you very kind review.
    It's always a pleasure to have great guests like you and we look forward to your return.
    Best wishes,
    George & Mary

  •  
    DotElliott
    Heanor, Derbyshire

    Never wanted to leave!!

     
    Left on 08/25/2011 for a stay in August 2011

     

    We stayed at Salmon Cottage the week before our wedding in Fife. And if this place can calm down a stressed out bride it can do wonders for anyone - it was amazing!! The cottage (luxury home!!) was spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, had everything you could of asked for and more and was beautifully spacious.
    I have only compliments to say and would definitely return. If you are looking for accomodation in Fife or for Edinburgh this is 100% perfect. The train journey is only 30 mins approx to Edinburgh for about 6 return and the train station is only a few mins walk from Salmon Cottage - perfect.
    George and Mary feel like friends even though we have never actually met face to face. And we thank them for being part of making our wedding week a very relaxing and special one.
    Dont waste time reading anymore reviews for anywhere else book Salmon Cottage now before we do again!!

     

    Response from Mr George & Mary Bain - 09/09/2011

    Mr George & Mary Bain

    Owner

    Many thanks for your kind review Dorothy. It was a pleasure to make you and Daniel comfortable on the run up to your wedding. Please come back and see us again, it will be a pleasure to make you both very welcome once more.

    Very best wishes for the future,
    George & Mary

  •  
    BakerBoyGlos
    GLOS

    Perfect place, brilliant views

     
    Left on 08/01/2011 for a stay in June 2011

     

    We recently stayed for a week in Salmon Cottage and wished we had longer. The property was spotless with all amenities catered for including bathrobes and binoculars. The owners were really helpful (especially when I managed to leave 2 hangers of clothes behind). The location was great for exploring the Fife coastline and with the train station a short walk away Edinburgh was just a 45 minute train ride away which saved on car parking worries. An aside note on this - to those that have looked at the location of the cottage being near to the railway station we did not experience any train noise in the property at all. I have only happy memories of Salmon Cottage with views of rainbows, seals, ships, and beach.

     

     

    Response from Mr George & Mary Bain - 08/11/2011

    Mr George & Mary Bain

    Owner

    Thank you for your very kind comments and it was our pleasure to send your left property on to you. Also pleased to hear that you made full use of the quaint little rail link up in the village. It's so convenient and we trust you enjoyed the ride over the Forth bridge straight into the heart of Edinburgh. It will be our pleasure to welcome you both back again.

    Very best wishes,
    George & Mary

  •  
    valery_quinn
    Brackley, United Kingdom

    Salmon Cottage has a real Wow! factor

     
    Left on 05/26/2011 for a stay in September 2010

     

    The stunning sea view, the immaculate presentation and the thoughtful welcoming touches make this cottage really special. We had a wonderful two weeks there and intend to return as often as we can. I remember the first time I walked up the stairs and opened the door to that airy living room with those huge sunny windows ... that was the first wow ... many more were to follow !

    George and Mary have the rare gift of making you feel the cottage is your own four star hotel, we could not have been made more welcome. A favourite part was those windows ... the constantly changing light, the ships passing by and the sunrises ... I spent hours just watching.

     

     

    Response from Mr George & Mary Bain - 06/24/2011

    Mr George & Mary Bain

    Owner

    It gave us great pleasure to welcome you to Salmon Cottage and we're looking forward to your return again.

    George & Mary

  •  
    Milstein2001
    York

    Fabulous holiday!!

    Left on 12/03/2010 for a stay in May 2010

    The house was spotlessly clean when we arrived and there was even a bottle of chilled wine and goodies laid out on the table for us to enjoy.
    Bedrooms were all laid out perfectly for us and plenty of towels with hotel style toiletries were in the bathrooms, such a nice touch.
    The views from the living room, dining room and bedrooms overlooking the beach and bay are very impressive. The children played safely on the sandy beach and patios directly in front of the property most days and we barbequed almost every evening. The local fisherman even dropped us in a free lobster thanks to George & Mary. The property is even better than the website suggests and we took great pictures of all the passing boats and surrounding island areas to remember this lovely location so we could show it to our family and friends

     

     

    Response from Mr George & Mary Bain - 12/04/2010

    Mr George & Mary Bain

    Owner

    Many thanks for choosing to stay at Salmon Cottage and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
    Best wishes,
    George & Mary

  •